Forum - FAQs

Some Questions from Our Forum

» If you have a specific question, feel free to contact us here!

Q: When Orbstorm happens and we roll a d8 and get an 8 but there aren't enough orb cards in the orb deck?
A: If the number rolled for the Orbstorm check exceeds the number of available Orb cards, you'll put all of the orbs onto the board. That should make for a quick game!

Q: Are only the orbs from Orbstorm not replaced? If the Crystal Orb was on the field before Orbstorm and it is destroyed, do we roll the Crystal Orb back on?
A: Once all of the orbs from Orbstorm are on the field, if any orb is destroyed or scored, you won't replace with another orb until you get back down to the number of orbs you started the game with.

Q: I have an Aura Mage and also a Harpy enchanted with Sticky Fingers. Can I use the Aura Mage's ability to move my Sticky Fingers to an enemy creature automatically or do I need to do a combat roll to put the enchantment on my opponent's creature?
A: The Aura Mage ability only requires a combat roll when selecting a creature enchantment to take from an opponent's creature. Once the Mage's Ability is granted (either by winning a combat roll or by automatically taking from your own team's creatures) there is no limitation on what non-enchanted creature you can put the enchantment on (barring Resistance, of course). In your case, you can automatically move the Sticky Fingers from four Harpy to an opponent's creature without requiring a roll.

Q: My Revenant kills an opponent's creature but my opponent's Druid/Necromancer is able to bring that creature back. What happens to the Revenant? Do I still get the red goal even though that creature is still alive?
A: The Revenant is only satisfied that it has done it's vengeful deed when the creature is removed from the board. The creature it 'kills', if it is resurrected or saved by a Druid/Necromancer, is not technically killed thus the Revenant stays on the board.

Q: If I sacrifice my Revenant to the Sacrifice Instant Event, does it come back?
A: The Sacrifice ability is a simple removal from the board, not a destruction event. The Revenant would not come back in that situation.

Q: Can my Revenant be removed from the board by suiciding it into a portal?
A: The suicide rule states that a non-carrier creature who enters a portal is destroyed. The Revenant says that if it is destroyed without first killing a creature, it is randomly relocated. Thus, the Revenant would be unsatisfied by simply killing itself and would simply relocate.

Q: Can the Transmuter change a Revenant into another creature? Can the Transmuter change another creature into a Revenant?
A: The Transmuter can indeed attempt change a Revenant into another creature. However, the Revenant can only come into play as a result of one of your creatures being destroyed in combat and thus the Transmuter's ability does not meet that qualification.

Q: For example if your creature can move 5 spaces and an orb is two spaces away, can you move 2 spaces to pick up the ORB and then continue to move the next 3 spaces. Picking up the ORB happens automatically, so it does not count as the Orb Maneuvering part of the creatures turn, since you can then throw it to another creature. So can you complete the movement?
A: You can move 2, pick up the orb (which as you says, happens automatically), then continue moving the rest of your movement and at that point still hand off or throw the orb.

Q: When you counter attack and win - I assume you keep the skin as if you were to attack, but it is not 100% clear in the rules?
A: Yes, any creature you destroy in combat, you win the skin, whether on the attack or counterattack.

Q: When a creature with the ORB is attacked and killed the ORB remains in the space the creature was in. With that said when a creature is DESTROYED by a Lightning Storm for example or another creature dropping in to the arena, is the ORB destroyed, or does it also drop into the space the creature was in? And if so does the creature summoned into the area become the ORB carrier? Also when a Chaos event occurs if a creature is carrying an ORB does the creature get summoned back in with the ORB, or is the ORB and the creature re-summoned separately?
A: If a carrier is destroyed in combat, the orb falls to the ground at that point. If the carrier is destroyed by an event such as lightning, fissure or squall, the orb is destroyed with the creature and a new orb type is rolled into the arena. A new creature summoned into the arena will only be a carrier if he rolls into a square occupied by an orb. In a chaos event, or a Chaos Mage magic ability, the carrier and the orb are each rerolled to new locations. WREST: In the updated rules, if an attack on an adjacent carrier is successful, the attacking creature may choose to take possession of the orb instead of damaging the creature. The attacker's turn is still over whether it gains possession or not.

Q: So all creatures have one hit point unless they have a enchantment attached, with that said one hit kills / Destroys the creature. If a creature is attacked and loses it loses one hit point and dies, but if it has an enhancement attached it just loses the hit point. Now, is this the same if an event happens such as a Lightning Storm, the effect states the creature is "destroyed" - does that mean even if it has an enchantment (thus 2 hits), or does the creature live and only the enchantment is removed?
A: If an effect says that a creature is destroyed, the creature will die whether it is enchanted or not. If an effect says the creature takes one damage and the creature is not enchanted, the creature would die, otherwise the enchantment would be taken off as damage.

Q: We played our first game last night and wanted to make sure we got the Killer Orb rules right: It kills *any* creature who is in possession of it at the end of the turn? So if my Gryphon picks up the orb and doesn't throw it, he still dies at the end of that turn, correct?
A: You are correct. Any creature who ends its turn with it in its possession is zapped.

Q: If the Killer Orb is thrown and hits an enchanted creature, what happens?
A: The enchantment is taken as a hit point and the Killer Orb's location is determined by a Loose Orb Placement roll from the damaged creature's position.

Q: On the opening turn how many monsters can be played/ can you play 3 in any turn?
A: On opening turn, and indeed on any turn, you can play as many creatures as you have ministands for (up to 3).

Q: Is the first turn just used to summon and equip your first monsters?
A: Everyone's first turn is basically the "setup turn" since the turn a creature comes in, it can't do anything beyond play the creature cards and, as you say, equip.

Q: When the deck runs out, are the cards reshuffled and reused(with the cards whose skins are still being used to create a red point left out)?
A: If the deck runs out (which is rare, but does happen), reshuffle the discard pile (all cards, including the creature cards whose corresponding minicards are being held as skins) and create a new stock. If a creature gets played that a player holds a skin of, that player would lose the skin.

Q: Is there any repercussion for failing a counter attack? It seems like you want to counter attack no matter what if you have the opportunity.
A: You may choose not to have a creature counterattack. Most of time you'll want to (to win the skin), but against a creature with Aura of Cursing, the Nork, or perhaps some weaker creature, you might just forgo the counterattack to ensure no ill effect to your creature or to keep your opponent saddled with a poorer critter.

Q: Can multiple Alter Reality cards be played at the same time?
A: Yes, multiple can be played at the same time (e.g. a +5 and a +3 can be used to make +8)

Q: Can Alter Reality Cards be played for a cumulative effect (IE: changing a single die roll by the combined amount), and/or multiple effects (IE: play one AR card to change the blue die and one to change the red die)?
A: Yes, you can use them to change any die roll. You can even use two at the same time to change two dice rolls (e.g. changing the location roll of Red 5, Blue 5 to Red 8, Blue 7 with an alter 3 and alter 2)

Q: Can players use Alter Reality cards in reaction to OTHER player's use of Alter Reality cards (IE: I play an AR card to make my attack hit, my opponent plays one to make me miss, etc.)?
A: Yes, If someone plays an alter reality card, you can respond with your own alter reality card, and they can then respond back... and even other players can throw in the mix if they want to.

Q: How does the timing of Alter Reality cards resolve (IE: do you have to declare all your AR cards at once, either as an action or as a reaction, or can you continue to act/react until you're out of AR cards or decide not to play any more)?
A: When an alter reality is played, it immediately alters the die roll and is discarded. You do not have to declare them all at once. You can hold some in store in case someone else alters your first one.

Q: Does the minotaur have to use all of his movement to use his charge attack?
A: The Minotaur can use just 3 of his movement to Charge attack if it is able, it doesn't *have* to use all of its movement to charge. The only restriction is that the last three squares it moves must be toward the creature on a straight line.

Q: If the minotaur causes a dude to get thrown backward and it hits another creature, what happens to the dude that flew and the other creature? If the minotaur causes a dude to get thrown backward two squares and there is a portal or an orb along the line it gets hit, does the creature fly over the portal/orb or does it get sucked in/grab the orb?
A: When a creature is thrown backward by a Minotaur's failed charge attack, the stunned creature is thrown back two squares. The stunned creature flies over whatever is in the first square (be it a creature, orb or portal - it doesn't interact with that square at all). When it lands in the second square, the following would occur:
a. If the square is occupied by a portal, the creature is destroyed (unless it is a carrier, in which case it would score)
b. If the square is occupied by an orb, the creature becomes a carrier (unless it is a carrier in which case the orb would be relocated by loose orb placement (d8)
c. If the square is occupied by a creature, the stunned creature is destroyed and the creature at the square is unaffected

In both a and c, the Minotaur's controller would get the skin of the destroyed creature.

Q: I have a Minotaur with Angel Wings that is attacking my enemy's Ghost with a charge attack. His creature has 'aggressive'. So what happens? Does he roll to see if his Ghost attacks first or does my Minotaur's charge attack negate his ability to counterattack?
A: Angel Wings on a Minotaur is one of my favorite combinations and brings up a lot of interesting scenarios.

During a Minotaur's Charge attack of an Aggressive creature, that aggressive creature would get to check to see if it would attack first, since it is not a counterattack as the Minotaur's text would prohibit.

In this situation, after combat with the special Charge attack has been initiated, the Ghost would roll to see if it attacks first (as though throwing a desperate swipe into the path of the oncoming beast). If the Ghost does get to attack first, it would get to roll its standard combat roll (A vs Minotaur's D).

If the Ghost hits, the Minotaur would lose its enchantment, though because combat was already initiated, it would be able to continue its Charge attack as normal, even though it is not longer flying. If the Ghost had, say, a Venomous Breath or Frenzied Attack and hit the Minotaur so as to destroy it, the Minotaur would be vaporized before actually coming into contact with the Ghost leaving the Aggressive creature unscathed, though I'm sure the ghost would be covered in warm bovine entrails.

Q: What if the Minotaur has Wrathful Projection? Can he use his Charge attack from 3 squares away?
A: The Charge attack is a special attack that the Minotaur can use but not in conjunction with the Range Attack which is a different kind of special attack.

Q: Here's a convoluted situation that came up in our game. The chicken was enchanted with an aura of cursing, and happened to be holding the slippery orb on square R20, B11 (edge of the board). My opponent charged me with his minotaur on a vector that would throw my enchanted chicken out of the arena. So what happens if the minotaur hits? What happens if it misses?
A: If the minotaur hits, the aura of cursing will be taken for damage and thus doing one damage to the minotaur as well (killing it if it in unenchanted). The chicken survives the initial hit, but because it is thrown back and leaves the arena, it too is destroyed. If the Minotaur misses, the enchanted Chicken is flung from the arena and is destroyed and the Aura of Cursing goes into effect, dealing one damage to the Minotaur. This is a unique situation where no matter the outcome of the rolls, the end situation is exactly the same!

Q: Do flying creatures that are caught in the gaze of the Basilisk lose flying?
A: Unlike the traditional "gaze of the basilisk", creatures in ScrumBrawl are not turned to stone or petrified. (The basilisks in Nordoon are apparently a less potent monster than their other mythological manifestations... either that or they rarely reach full maturity.)

Think of the Basilisk's ability more as a 'stunning stare'. Flying creatures that are stunned will sort of flap in place in a daze for the rest of its turn, drooling profusely down their breasts. Since the Basilisk's card text does not specifically state that a stunned creature ceases flying, it cannot be assumed that they do.

Q: In our game just now, the active player had two instant events. The first one was the lightning storm and the second was the fissure. During the 8 strike lightning storm, on the second strike, the Magic Stump was hit and caused a chaos event. What happens now? Does the turn automatically end so nothing else happens other than the Chaos event (i.e. no more lightning strikes or fissure?)
A: There are two kinds of Lightning Events and each has a different effect when interacting with the Magic Stump. The one answers your question and the other is a bonus answer.

1. Lightning Storm Instant Event: Instant Events take place before the active player's turn begins, thus if the Stump is destroyed and Chaos ensues, all portals/orbs/creatures are relocated, the rest of the Lightning Strikes occur, any additional events occur, and then the player begins his turn.

2. Lightning Storm from Lightning Imp's destruction: If the Lightning Imp is destroyed after the player's turn has begun and as a result of one of the lightning strikes, the Stump is destroyed and Chaos ensues, all portals/orbs/creatures are relocated and the turn ends (resulting in no more lightning strikes, no movement, and no creature placement).


Q: If the Nork runs into a portal, does it explode and deal damage to everything around it or does it just go away without incident?
A: The Suicide Rule states that the creature is destroyed when it enters a square occupied by a portal when not carrying an Orb. Any action that would result from the destruction of a creature would go into effect including the Nork's gastric disturbance. In this case, the portal he jumped into would be destroyed as would any orb and portal adjacent to it. The Nork would also deal one damage to any creature(s) adjacent to the portal.

Q: Can the Necromancer or Druid bring back the Revenant when it kills a creature and is removed from the board?
A: The Necromancer and the Druid have the ability to reanimate/resurrect a creature that has been destroyed. This would go for creatures that are killed: a) in combat, b) by creatures/portals entering the arena via random placement, c) instant events, d) orb effects, etc. The key is that the creature is destroyed. In the case of the Revenant, if it is destroyed, it comes back automatically because of its own ability. However, when it fulfills its vengeful mission, it is simply removed from the arena and discarded, thus it cannot be the target of the Necromancer's or Druid's ability.

Q: My creature is attacked by my opponent's creature that is enchanted with Raging Valor. During combat, his attack roll beats my defense roll by 1. Can I use my Dispel on his Raging Valor to lower his attack roll by 3?
A: If you Dispel the enchantment before combat, then the value granted by the Raging Valor would not go into effect (since it would be discarded). But once a roll is performed and the number of the combat value is determined, only an Alter Reality card can change the value. You could still Dispel the enchantment at that time, but it would not change the value of the combat roll.

Q: I have a creature with Aura of Cursing, and it is attacked from range. If my creature is damaged, does their creature still take the 1 damage from Aura of Cursing?
A: Aura of Cursing triggers whenever a creature causes that enchantment to be removed via damage or destruction to the creature. This means that if the Aura of Cursing is taken off as a result of combat damage, whether it is ranged or not, or by a creature entering the Arena at the location of the enchanted creature, the creature causing the damage/destruction is dealt a point of damage as well.

Additionally, if the Aura of Cursing is removed as a result of the Aura Mage's ability or the Magic Stump's enchantment destruction ability, the Aura's effect does not trigger as damage was not dealt to the enchanted creature.

Also, if a creature is destroyed by the Aura of Cursing, the player that controlled the enchantment wins the skin.

Q: If I have a flying creature that picks up the Heavy Orb (thus losing flying) and then afterward, I add Angel Wings to that creature, does it mean that it is now flying again?
A: The Heavy Orb states that a creature cannot fly (unless the creature is Strong in which case the Heavy Orb has no effect on the creature). A creature that is carrying the Heavy Orb still possesses the ability to fly, but not as long as it is a carrier of the Heavy Orb. Adding Angel Wings to that creature (in essence attempting to give the creature double flying) does not change the Heavy Orb's restriction.

Q: Can the Druid or the Necromancer use their abilities if they are carrying the orb?
A: Creatures with text that reads "Magic Ability" are prohibited from using their abilities unless it is on their own turn and in lieu of combat, movement or orb maneuvering. But the Necromancer, Druid (and others, such as the Basilisk) have abilities on their cards that can be used at times other than on their controllers' turns and are thus not restricted by the Magic Ability restriction.

In short, yes, the Druid, Necromancer, and Basilisk can indeed use their abilities while carrying the orb as there is no stated restriction prohibiting such action.

Q: What happens if I accidently count to four before lobbing the holy hand grenade of antioch? Also, If I lobbest the holy hand grenade of antioch at a creature who is enchanted, is that creature still considered naughty enough in the allmighty's sight to snuff it or only naughty enough to lose enchantment?
A: Maybe we should start a humor forum?


***

We have had some great questions from people asking about different situations that arise during a random creature, orb, or portal location. Here is a listing of what happens and how to deal with it:

Creature Locating
1a. If you roll a new creature onto an existing creature that is NOT carrying an orb, the existing creature is destroyed and the new creature takes its place. Note: since the creature is destroyed, see if any further actions take place once the new creature is on the board (e.g. Lightning Imp's death ability). This is not a combat destruction so the Troll's ability, for instance, would not trigger.

1b. If you roll a new creature onto an existing creature that IS carrying an orb, the existing creature is destroyed and the new creature takes its place AND becomes the carrier of that orb.

1c. If you roll a new creature onto an orb, the new creature becomes the carrier of that orb.

1d. If you roll a new creature onto a portal, the new creature is destroyed (triggering any death events). The portal is unaffected.

Orb Locating
2a. If you roll a new orb onto an existing creature that is NOT carrying an orb, the existing creature gains possession of the new orb.

2b. If you roll a new orb onto an existing creature that IS carrying an orb, reroll the location of the new orb.

2c. If you roll a new orb onto an existing orb, reroll the location of the new orb. The existing orb is unaffected.

2d. If you roll a new orb onto an existing portal, reroll the location of the new orb. The portal is unaffected.

Portal Locating
3a. If you roll a new portal onto an existing creature that is NOT carrying an orb, the existing creature is destroyed and the portal comes into play at the rolled location.

3b. If you roll a new portal onto an existing creature that IS carrying an orb, the existing creature scores what might be the most improbable scoring scenario ever. A blue stone is awarded to the player's controller. If the game is not over as a result of the score, a new orb and portal are relocated and the existing creature is otherwise unaffected. If this occurs on that controller's turn and the creature has not already moved, it may take its turn as normal.

3c. If you roll a new portal onto an existing orb, reroll the location of the portal. The orb is unaffected.

3d. If you roll a new portal onto an existing portal, reroll the location of the portal. The existing portal is unaffected.

***
Site by Levant Technologies